The Monaco Grand Prix – Facts and stats



  • The Monaco Grand Prix has been run every year since 1929
  •  It forms the Triple Crown in Motorsport along with The 24 Hours of Le Mans and The Indianapolis 500
  •  It is the only Grand Prix that does not adhere to the FIAs mandated 305 kilometre race distance
  •  Fernando Alonso is the only driver to win the Monaco Grand Prix in consecutive years (2006 and 2007)
  •  The first Grand Prix in 1929 was organised by Anthony Noghes
  • The first race in 1929 was won by William Grover-Williams in a Bugatti
  • The First Grand Prix Automobile De Monaco was an invite only event
  • The 1950 Monaco Grand Prix provided future 5 time world champion Juan Manuel Fangio with his first race win
  • The 1996 race saw only 4 cars finish the race and was won by Olivier Panis
  • The race had been won the most times by Ayrton Senna on 6 occasions
  • McLaren is the most successful constructor with 15 wins
Credits to Ryan Balding



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s