Tracks Facts & Stats

The Spanish Grand Prix Stats and Facts (Catalunya only)

Circuit De Catalunya was built in 1991 and has hosted the Spanish Grand Prix every year since

  • In 2007 a chicane was added before the final corner in an attempt to create more overtaking
  • The circuit had been the scene to 2 debut wins
  • Lap Record set in 2008 when Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari) set a 1:21.670
  • In 1991 Ayrton Senna and Nigel Mansell went down the entire pit straight side by side with Mansell eventually taking the place and the win
  • In 1994 Michael Schumacher managed to grab a 2nd place finish despite racing over half the race with only 5th gear
  • 1996: Schumacher takes his maiden win with Ferrari (First of many)
  • I’m 1999 only one overtake was reported during the entire 66 lap race
  • 2001: Hakkinen loses the win on the final lap with clutch failure handing Schumacher the win
  • 2006: World Champion Fernando Alonso became the first ever Spanish winner of the Grand Prix
  • 2008: Heikki Kovalainen crashed into the tyre barrier at over 240kph after a wheel rim failure at Campsa corner

Thanks to our facts and stats guy Ryan